Which Sabot Slug do you shoot?

swohiodave

I started shooting Hornady SST's and they group well on paper at 50 yards but shooting 40-60 yards from a tree they seem to be shooting high, which is not unexpected as the box shows 2.7 inches high at 100 and 0 at 150 yrds. I not impressed with the damage done when my second shot grazed the heart. The deer went down but no blood trail at all. Thinking of trying rem copper solids from my Mossberg 500. I know all guns are different, I am just curious what others use.

The Barnes bullets are spectacular out of my muzzleloader. I would believe they would do well in shotgun ammo too. They are pricey but they perform second to none IMHO. I say that having used Powerbelts and Hornady SSTs from my muzzleloader. I am a big believer in Hornady ammo but didn't get the results I was looking for in performance from the SSTs. They were accurate though.

I usually shoot good old Winchester BRI slugs. I have shot them for years. They are heavy and slow, but I've never had an issue with them. Couldn't find them around town this fall, so ended up getting Partition Golds, which seems a little overkill for me since most of my shots are under 50 or 60 yards and I don't use a scope.

I usually shoot good old Winchester BRI slugs. I have shot them for years. They are heavy and slow, but I've never had an issue with them. Couldn't find them around town this fall, so ended up getting Partition Golds, which seems a little overkill for me since most of my shots are under 50 or 60 yards and I don't use a scope.

Winchester bought BRI out a few years back and I don't think there are many of the old BRI slugs around now. They have been replaced by the Supreme Partition gold.

I tried Remington Copper solids and didn't like them at all before I switched to BRI and then to the Winchester Supremes. I have made several one shot kills at over 150 yards

Lynn